Plan your work, work your plan.

 

A colleague of mine said yesterday, “Play your work, work your plan.”

Do you have a plan? Ever find yourself at a loss for what you should be doing, or spending time working on something that isn’t a priority and end up feeling unaccomplished? Or overwhelmed because those major projects are still there, incomplete, and you don’t feel like you’re making progress?

A plan for both your day-to-day activities AND your long term goals is essential. If you don’t have a plan for your day, how do you know what to focus on? If you don’t have a specific marketing plan, how will you tell if you were successful in your advertising efforts? How will you evaluate them?

At the very least, you can execute a daily plan NOW that will help you streamline your day and increase productivity.  We can visit how to create a bigger plan later…that’s a whole post in itself!

On a day-to-day basis, I use a “Daily Productivity Sheet” that helps tremendously. It’s structured a little something like this:

  1. Priorities – 5 Firsts: The 5 Things that MUST be done today, no matter what
  2. People
    1. People I need to reach out to
    2. People I’m waiting to hear from
  3. Projects – Major projects & action items I need to take to move projects forward
    1. List out projects (my sheet has room for 4) and put action steps below each project that will help you to continue to progress towards completion.

I do this sheet everyday and try to set up the next day’s sheet before I leave the office so I can walk right in with a plan for the day. I would be happy to share this document with you, just email me at griffith.aimee@gmail.com.

Ready, set….now GO start planning!

1 thought on “Plan your work, work your plan.

  1. Pingback: Work. Learn. Succeed. Share. REPEAT.

Leave a comment